Ash Wednesday

“The visible sign of ashes is only lived well by remembering the repeated reminder in the Gospel today to do one’s righteous deeds – prayer, almsgiving, fasting – in a hidden way, unseen by anyone but God. And your Father who sees in secret will repay you.” ~Fr. Donald Haggerty

Tonight we headed to Ash Wednesday* mass- the 1st day of the Lenten Season.  The parking lot was full and I had to park at the Hannaford across the street.  That was a pain, but a blessing for the Church – a full church!  On this day that signifies that we all need to make positive changes in our lives, Catholics want to show off their ashes.  I know I do.  I am able to show with an outward physical sign that I’m Catholic.  I am also showing that I admit to have faults. Happy Lenting! I’ll be praying for you!

*Fr Mike Schmitz explains the Significance of Ash Wednesday

Leave a Reply

