Good Friday – The Cross is the Answer

When I was in college I went to Holy Thursday mass, Good Friday service and Easter Vigil on Saturday.  With children, life changes and the way I pray and worship during Holy Week does, too.  I attended Holy Thursday mass but I didn’t hear half of it, I did not attend a Good Friday service and I’ll be going to Sunday Easter mass.  I have always loved attending the Good Friday service – although the most solemn and saddest day in the Church, I find the Goodness of this Friday.  I watched Fr. Mike Schmitz’s “Good Friday – The Meaning of the Cross” today and his words hit me, especially his last sentence:   

“Hold onto the cross, let it be before your eyes everyday and let the power of God and the wisdom of God be the answer of God for all of your questions.”

A special edition of Tempo Tuesday on this Good Friday – Chris Tomlin’s “At the Cross.”

There’s a place where mercy reigns and never dies
There’s a place where streams of grace flow deep and wide
Where all the love I’ve ever found
Comes like a flood
Comes flowing down
At the cross

Christ on the Cross by Matthias Grunewald.

Leave a Reply

