Mistakes and Mercy

I try to read from one or two devotionals each night and this is what I read tonight in “Small Steps for Catholic Moms” by Danielle Bean and Elizabeth Foss from CatholicMom.com:

When you make a mistake with your children today (and you will), admit it, and apologize sincerely.  Say it all out loud, and make sure they understand that God uses these instances to refine your soul and draw you close to him.

I need to work on this – when I screw up I need to own up to it in front of my kids.  I make mistakes. They make mistakes.  It’s ok as long as we face the mistakes and make a point to be better.  The Lord shows us mercy.  Our children show us mercy.  We must show mercy to all. 

Leave a Reply

